The Rattler is This Weekend; Here’s the Entry List

May 20, 2020

(Original story from Speed51, posted with permission from Speed51)

After a two-month hiatus, the Southern Super Series is finally set to begin its eighth season of competition this weekend at the 44th Annual Rattler 250 at South Alabama Speedway.  A talented list of drivers has entered the race in advance of the first marquee Super Late Model event since the COVID-19 pandemic.

Defending Rattler 250 winner Giovanni Bromante will be back to defend his crown from one year ago.  He won last year’s Rattler in his Super Late Model debut, which was also his first race back from a back injury that had sidelined him for the waning months of the 2018 season.

Two-time Rattler 250 winner Ty Majeski will be back for a shot at a third date with the famed rattlesnake.  This will come two days before the scheduled return of the NASCAR Truck Series at Charlotte Motor Speedway on Tuesday, May 26.

Another former Rattler 250 winner, Bubba Pollard, will be in attendance looking for his first asphalt win of 2020.  Among other former winners entered are Alabama’s Augie Grill and North Carolina’s Jeff Fultz.

Former Southern Super Series champion Stephen Nasse and former ARCA/CRA Super Series champion Josh Brock are both entered.  Both drivers have had top-five runs in the Rattler in recent years.

Former SpeedFest winner Connor Okrzesik and former Viper Series champion Hunter Robbins lead the home state contingent into this weekend’s event.  Both are looking for their first Rattler wins.

Nine drivers are scheduled to make the trip out from Florida for the event.  Along with Nasse, Kyle Bryant, Jeremy Pate, Jett Noland, Steve Dorer, Daniel Webster, Anthony Sergi, Daniel Dye, and Michael Atwell will all represent the Sunshine State.

Snowball Derby runner-up finisher Jake Garcia will go to Alabama for the first time since winning the Alabama 200 back in March.  Other drivers coming from Georgia are brothers Kyle and Kason Plott, Dawson Fletcher, Hudson Halder, and Kyle Sieg.

The Midwest will have a strong showing of drivers representing the region in the Yellowhammer State this weekend.  Illinois’s Austin Nason and Boris Jurkovic, Wisconsin’s John DeAngelis and Gabe Sommers, Ohio’s Brandon Oakley, Iowa’s Sammy Smith, and Indiana’s Mason Keller will all make the trip south for the Rattler.

Defending Nashville Fairgrounds Speedway Pro Late Model champion Jackson Boone will make his Super Late Model debut as he looks to go after the Southern Super Series crown in 2020.  Nick Joanides will make the cross-country trek from California to make his first Rattler 250 start.

Kyle Plott, Nasse, Noland, Dorer, Fletcher, and Dye are all planning on also running the Pro Late Model Rattler 125 Saturday night.  They join a field of Pro Late Model shoes that include Korey Ruble, Justin South, and Dylan Fetcho.

A full list of entries for both divisions can be seen below.

Speed51 will provide a live broadcast of the 44th Annual Rattler Weekend.  Click here for more information.

Rattler 250 Entry List:

  1. Hunter Robbins
  2. Kyle Plott
  3. Kason Plott
  4. Mason Keller
  5. Kyle Bryant
  6. Bubba Pollard
  7. Jake Garcia
  8. Stephen Nasse
  9. Conner Okrzesik
  10. Jeremy Pate
  11. Jett Noland
  12. Steve Dorer
  13. Dawson Fletcher
  14. Gabe Sommers
  15. Daniel Webster
  16. Austin Nason
  17. Jackson Boone
  18. Josh Brock
  19. Anthony Sergi
  20. Augie Grill
  21. Daniel Dye
  22. Michael Atwell
  23. Hudson Halder
  24. Brandon Oakley
  25. Kyle Sieg
  26. Nick Joanides
  27. Boris Jurkovic
  28. Jeff Fultz
  29. Ty Majeski
  30. John DeAngelis
  31. Sammy Smith
  32. Giovanni Bromante

Pro Late Model Rattler Entry List:

  1. Kyle Plott
  2. Stephen Nasse
  3. Jett Noland
  4. Steve Dorer
  5. Jacob Beasock
  6. Justin Beck
  7. Dawson Fletcher
  8. Billy Van Mater
  9. Brandon Curren
  10. Scot Smith
  11. Rafe Slate
  12. Daniel DyeHarrison Halder
  13. Cody Brake
  14. Brad Kossow
  15. Korey Ruble
  16. Justin South
  17. Dylan Fetcho

-Story by: Koty Geyer, Speed51 National Correspondent - Twitter: @kgeyer3
-Photo Credit: Speed51 Photo