top of page


Updated: Dec 1, 2021

The 4th Annual North/South Super Late Model Challenge at Fairgrounds Speedway Nashville has become one of the biggest Super Late Model events in the southeast. For the second straight year, the ARCA/CRA Super Series, Southern Super Series, and the CARS Response Energy Super Late Model Tour will combine to put on a 100-lap event for the top stars of each series. As we get closer to Saturday’s race in the Music City, the entry list has been released for the North/South Super Late Model Challenge.

Topping the entry list is two-time defending North/South Super Late Model Challenge winner Casey Roderick. One year ago, Roderick charged from his 20th starting position to take the lead from NASCAR Gander Outdoor Truck Series driver and Big-Block Modified ace Stewart Friesen with less than ten laps to go to take the win.

Roderick is joined by 2018 champions from three other series. ARCA/CRA Super Series champion Josh Brock will make the haul from Corbin, KY after top five finishes in each of the last two years. Defending CARS Super Late Model Tour champion Jared Fryar will continue his title defense leading the CARS Tour contingent, while three-time defending PASS South champion Matt Craig looks to make his first North/South Super Late Model Challenge start after competing in the All-American 400 in 2017.

Current Southern Super Series points leader Giovanni Bromante is also entered after opening the 2019 season with a pair of victories at the Rattler 250 and the Blizzard Series opener at Five Flags Speedway.

Other drivers competing with the Southern Super Series include SpeedFest winner Connor Okrzesik, 2017 third-place finisher Kyle Plott, Florida drivers Kyle Bryant, Jett Noland, and Anthony Sergi, veterans Chris Davidson and Allen Karnes, and Fairgrounds Speedway Nashville Pro Late Model regular Kyle Ivey.

Three-time ARCA/CRA Super Series champion Johnny VanDoorn is entered for the North/South Super Late Model challenge after a third place finish last year. Other former series champions joining him are 2017 champion Logan Runyon and 2004 champion and former All-American 400 winner Chuck Barnes Jr., who will make his Super Late Model return with Richie Wauters Motorsports. They are joined by series regulars Austin Kunert and Greg Van Alst, Wisconsin driver Dennis Prunty, and two-time track champion Cole Williams.

The CARS Super Late Model Tour has eleven cars represented for their second year tri-sanctioning the North/South Super Late Model Challenge. Joining defending champion Fryar are Matt Craig, former PASS South champion Tate Fogleman, reigning Redeye 100 winner Ryan Moore, Washington driver Molly Helmuth, North Carolina’s Dan Speeney, Mike Speeney and Lee Tissot, Virginia’s Colin Garrett, and Missouri’s Nolan Pope.

Saturday’s race will be streamed live via a pay-per-view broadcast on An enhanced tape-delayed broadcast will also air on Speed51’s Short Track America on MAVTV. That broadcast will debut Wednesday, July 3 at 7 p.m. ET.

1 view0 comments


bottom of page