top of page

VDL Fuel Systems Rookie of the Year Program Underway

The race is on for the 2024 VDL Fuel Systems Southern Super Series Rookie of the Year. The honor is awarded to the top Super Late Model rookie in the series who had limited starts in a Super Late Model before the 2024 campaign. 

The contenders so far this year for the Rookie of the Year award are as follows. 

Dawson Sutton, enters The Gulf Coast Weekend 11th in points with a top five and two top 10 runs. Sutton ran mostly Pro Late Model events last year and is chasing Rookie of the Year honors on both the ASA STARS National Tour and in the Southern Super Series ranks. 

Timothy Watson, the two-time Outlaw Track Champion will look to rebound at his home track of Five Flags Speedway this weekend to aid his rookie campaign. Despite not making the green at Montgomery last time out, Watson is just one spot behind Sutton.  

Dustin Smith, the Mobile, Alabama has a handful of starts, but he’s never run a full season and his second-place run at Montgomery is the best rookie finish of the season. Smith will be smiling ear-to-ear when the series rolls into Mobile on Saturday as he will have more laps than most of the drivers in the field.  

Prior winners include last year’s champions Gio Ruggiero, Michael Hinde, Jett Noland, Jake Garcia, Corey Hiem, Chandler Smith, Kenzie Ruston, and Daniel Hemric. 

Past Rookie of the Year Winners

2023 Gio Ruggiero 

2022 Michael Hinde

2021 Jett Noland 

2020 Jake Garcia

2019 Gio Bromonte

2018 Corey Hiem

2017 Chandler Smith

2016 Kenzie Ruston

2015 Garrett Jones

2014 Anderson Bowen

2013Daniel Hemric

38 views0 comments


bottom of page